Socks 2

When the sun had set and the long summer twilight was fading, the oldest sock began his tale.

“Gather around my dears and I will tell you a story about the fate of your brothers and sisters as it was told to me when I was very young.
The Wearers say we are useless now without our twin and that they were simply lost, dropped or forgotten when the Wearers were packing.
This is not true!
I can tell you for sure that our twins are off on a dangerous quest and will return when they have found Sock Heaven“.
All the socks gasped in astonishment as they always did at this point, to encourage the old sock in his tale. Of course Pollyanna said not a word for the story was new to them and anyway they were shy.
“Sock Heaven is a wonderful place where we shall not only see our twins again but be washed with care in the correct temperature and always have the smallest hole darned with perfectly matching wool. Or polyester!” the old sock added quickly, so as not to hurt the feelings of the those of a synthetic disposition.
The story unwound in its customary slow and comforting fashion, but Pollyanna were no longer paying attention. They had simultaneously thought of a daring plan.
They would go together and find ‘Sock Heaven‘.

Tags: , ,

About mikeinkwazi

I am in my seventies and live in the west coast of Scotland, with the sea at the bottom of my garden. I have been variously, a sculptor an art teacher, designer, inventor, organic grower and last but never least, a blue water sailor. By the way, I have been telling stories and writing nonsense all my life!

Leave a Reply

